Cabin

I don’t know why I am just not getting around to posting this, it is from November after all. It is from the same night that I took the moon picture. Elliot’s dad built this cabin, it is such an incredibly great little place. I just had to turn my camera around and get a picture of it as well. I can’t remember exactly but I think it was close to a 6 minute exposure. The light from the windows is entirely candle light (we turned off the generator so that we didn’t have too much light polluting the pictures), and the rest of the light is just from the insanely bright moon that night.

4 thoughts on “Cabin

  1. hello abi! Im a follower of your blog for inspirations… :) mind if i ask you for a tip? how are you able to achieve moving stars without overexposing?

    thanks
    marv

    • I am so glad you enjoy my work! It is very important that you are in an area that does not have a lot of ambient light (lights from cities/street lights etc.). If there is lots of ambient light you won’t be able to get a long enough exposure to get star trails. Then it is also pretty important to have a small aperture (big number, like f22, since depth of field doesn’t really matter for this). Generally speaking you shouldn’t get any over-exposed star trails with minimal ambient light, and with a small aperture. It was extremely bright because of the full moon when I took this shot, and I was still able to get some very long exposures. Even when it looks bright out, there is a good chance it won’t be over exposed, because it takes so long for the light from the stars to actually get to the camera.

      Also, if you aren’t able to get very long exposures, so your trails are pretty short, you can take a lot of them (making sure to not touch the camera at all in between shots), and then later stack them so that it appears to be one very long exposure.

      I hope all that makes sense! If you have more questions feel free to ask, I am not all that experienced with star trails, but I love to learn more!

  2. Thank you for your reply, I was thinking you were using some sort of a filter, because getting longer exposure means more light. And to have star trails like that, I thought u left shutter open for 10-15 mins.. :D

Leave a Reply

