23/365 – Terabyte

It took forever to get this done tonight. It had been ages since I had done this technique, which is called focus stacking. I took about 17 pictures of my hard drive (with my camera on a tripod), shifting the focus slightly with each picture so that I could get the entire name in focus with still having a shallow depth of field. After taking the images I had to put them in to Photoshop and blend them together, which on a laptop (even my heavily upgraded one) takes forever. I think it took a half hour to process this final image. And I had to do this three different times, with one time taking an hour to process. So needless to say I have been working on this for more than a couple of hours. I also busted out my flash for the first time in a while tonight, and bounced it off the window behind me with a diffuser.

I seriously love my hard drive, so I thought it deserved a spot in my 365.

Leave a Reply

